List of newly elected MPs handed over to the President

New Delhi: President Draupadi Murmu has been handed over the names of the members elected to the 18th Lok Sabha. With this, the code of conduct imposed during the Lok Sabha elections also ended on Thursday. The country’s Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar handed over the list of new MPs to the President on Thursday evening. Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar reached Rashtrapati Bhavan on Thursday evening and met President Draupadi Murmu.

According to the President’s Secretariat, a copy of the notification issued by the Election Commission of India in reference to Section-73 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 was handed over to the President. It contains the names of the members elected to the Lok Sabha after the general elections of the 18th Lok Sabha.

The President congratulated the Chief Election Commissioner and Election Commissioners on the successful completion of the largest democratic electoral process in human history. On behalf of the whole country, he appreciated the efforts of the Election Commission, its officers and staff members, other public officials involved in the management and supervision of the campaign and polling, police and security personnel, the Center and the State.

According to the President’s Secretariat, tireless and diligent work has been done to maintain the sanctity of the people’s ballot and successfully conduct free and fair elections. Above all, he praised the millions of voters who participated in the election process in such large numbers. The President said, “This is completely in line with our Constitution and India’s deep and unwavering democratic traditions.” During the meeting with the President, Election Commissioners Gyanesh Kumar and Dr. Sukhbir Singh Sandhu were also present with the Chief Election Commissioner. Earlier on Wednesday, the President dissolved the 17th Lok Sabha with immediate effect. This decision was taken by the President on the advice of the Union Cabinet.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *