The State Election Commission announced the schedule of by-elections in the vacant posts of the chairman, 22 members and five councilors of the four city panchayats, including the Banki of Barabanki in the municipal bodies. Nomination for this will start from 31 March. Voting will be held on May 4 and counting of votes on May 6. State Election Commissioner Manoj Kumar has issued notification related to the by-election. He has directed the District Magistrates to issue a notification on March 30 for the by-election as District Election Officer. After this, on March 31, the Returning Officer will issue a public notice of the by-election for the vacant chairman and ward and municipal councilor posts of the respective urban body. Nomination of urban bodies of district headquarters, scrutiny of nomination papers, withdrawal of nomination, allotment of election mark and counting of votes will be done at district headquarters and the respective tehsil headquarters of other municipal bodies. Polling will be held at fixed polling stations. The by-elections of Nagar Panchayats, Municipality Councils and Municipal Corporations will be held simultaneously. The offices concerned will remain open on public holidays even between the timetable of the election proceedings.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *