Uttarakhand, 31 March 2024: Among the five Lok Sabha seats in the state, 11 candidates will contest in Tehri seat, 13 in Pauri Garhwal, 7 in Almora, 10 in Nainital and 14 in Haridwar.

All the process of nomination for Lok Sabha elections in Uttarakhand has been completed. After the withdrawal of nominations on Saturday, a total of 55 candidates are now in the fray for power.

Additional Chief Electoral Officer Vijay Kumar Jogdande told in the press conference that the time for withdrawal of nominations was fixed till 3 pm on Saturday. Arjun Kumar Dev, an independent candidate from Almora, one of the five Lok Sabha seats in the state, has withdrawn his nomination.

He said that now a total of 55 candidates are in the fray for five Lok Sabha constituencies in the state. In which 11 candidates will contest elections on Tehri seat, 13 on Pauri Garhwal, seven in Almora, 10 in Nainital and 14 in Haridwar.

This time 83 lakh 37 thousand 914 voters will decide the fate of these candidates. There are 93 thousand 187 service voters in the elections. There are 1 lakh 48 thousand 90 voters aged 18 to 19 years who will press the EVM button for the first time. There are 65 thousand 160 voters above 85 years of age and 80 thousand 335 disabled voters.

Ban on exit and opinion polls

He said that as per the instructions of the Election Commission of India, publishing and broadcasting of exit poll findings will be completely prohibited during the election process. Exit polls will not be published and broadcast from 7 am on April 19 to 6:30 pm on June 1, 2024. All media houses will have to ensure compliance with these restrictions. Along with this, conducting opinion polls and publishing and broadcasting its results 48 hours before the end of voting will also be prohibited.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *