Who is Mohan Charan Majhi who is going to become the new Chief Minister of Odisha?

Odisha: Bharatiya Janata Party MLA Mohan Charan Majhi has been appointed as the new Chief Minister of Odisha. Mohan Charan Majhi was elected leader of the legislative party in the presence of Defense Minister Rajnath Singh. Mohan Majhi is a four-time tribal MLA from Keonjhar Assembly of Odisha. In the 2024 Odisha Assembly elections, Mohan Charan Majhi secured 47.05 percent votes and won from Keonjhar Assembly constituency. Majhi defeated Biju Janata Dal (BJD)’s Minu Majhi, who got 40.84 percent votes.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has come to power on its own for the first time in the state of Odisha. The BJP has won 78 seats in the 147-member assembly of the state. The decision on the Chief Minister was taken in the Legislature Party meeting. Defense Minister Rajnath Singh and Union Minister Bhupendra Yadav attended the Legislature Party meeting as observers.

The names of two Deputy CMs have also been approved in the Legislature Party meeting itself. Kanak Vardhan Singh Dev and Prabhati Parida have been elected as the new Deputy Chief Ministers of the state.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *