Devi bhagwat purana is the greatest purana of all the puranas written by great sage “Veda Vyasa”. Lord Veda Vyasa has written the four Vedas and then written the longest epic called “Mahabharata”. But there after he has written 18 puranas. The eighteen purana are Bhagavata Purana, Vishnu Purana, Naradiya Purana, Vamana Purana, Matsya Purana, Garuda Purana, Brahma Purana, Bhavishya Purana, Agni Purana, Brahjma Vaivartha Purana, Brahmananda Purana, Padma Purana, Shiva Purana, Linga Purana, Kurma Purana, Markandeya Purana, Varaha Purana, Skanda Purana. Many sectarians has classified them as satvik, tamsik and rajsik. But Srimad Devi Bhagwat Purana doesn’t come under any classification. There is no purana that is called Mahapurana by any scriptural authoritative mention except for one.

There is only one Purana that evidently considers itself as Mahapurana through the words of Krishna Dwaipayan (Ved Vyasa) itself. That purana is “Devi Bhagwat Purana”. It has 18000 verses.

Srimad Devi Bhagwat Mahapurana

Suta says “S’rî Sûta said :– “I am highly fortunate; I consider myself blessed and I am purified by the Mahâtmâs (high souled persons); inasmuch as I am questioned by them about the highly
meritorious Purâna, famous in the Vedas. I will now speak in detail about this Purâna, the
best of the Agamas, approved of by all the Vedas and the secret of all the Sastras.

All this indicate and proves that Srimad Devi Bhagwat as the greatest Purana.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *